Questions about applying for positions while I'm still an Undergraduate

• Engineering
  • Thread starter PhotonSSBM
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Undergraduate
In summary: Also, if you've worked with a group of developers on a project before, have you been the lead programmer on that project? If so, that's a good thing to mention since it shows that you have experience leading a team and managing a project.You might also be asked about your experience with debugging and troubleshooting, as well as creating documentation for your code. If you have experience with these things, it's good to mention them as well.In summary, make sure you have a good understanding of project management, source code control, and debugging/troubleshooting. These are important skills for a professional programmer and will make you more attractive to potential employers. Also, make sure to highlight any experience
PhotonSSBM
Insights Author
I've been working for a company I helped start for the last 10 months. In that time I've built quite a powerful product, which has attracted recruiters on Linkedin to offer me their time. Some of them have been exceptionally tantalizing. Right now, my company is finding it's way to being able to sell our product, and finally start paying ourselves. In the meantime, I am in school part time as a non traditional student (29 yo), and my degree in Physics is a year away from completion (part time). I am on welfare and working as a tutor part time to pay the bills. I started school 5 years ago, and have a number of skills I"m able to market that I've learned in just the last 2 years as an RA and software developer. I have virtually no credentials course-wise for CS, but I am very good at what I do, and have a very sophisticated program under my belt.