Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Questions about octal buffer

1. May 20, 2005 #1
    Hello, I am new to electronics and have been reading as much as I can about the subject when time permits. I am doing a project to make an adapter to hook a ttl magnetic swipe reader to my computer via the gaming port. There are also plans to make an adapter that would allow you to connect it to the parrallel port. One of the components of the parrallel adapter is an octal buffer. I do not understand what this component does. Anyone?
  2. jcsd
  3. May 21, 2005 #2

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

A buffer is temporary storage component (like RAM), where data is gated n-bits at a time. A good example using the parallel port, is the printer. The printer is slower at printing than the electronic flow of bits (hi and low signals) through the parallel port. This is especially true for pixel intensive images. So the buffer holds the data until the printer has finished its operation on the last group of data, then gates in some more.

Octal refers to base-8 numbering system. This can be represented in binary numbers using 3-bits. (0 to 7, represented by 000 to 111).

Looking at the specs for an octal buffer (look at page 3, bottom right diagram) it appears to have 8 inputs, 8 outputs and some other control pins. If the expected data was coded in hexadecimal (base-16, represented by 0 to F), which is very common for computer apps, you can represent them in binary from 0000=0 to 1111=F. You can input any number in hex (0 to F) using 4-bits and an octal buffer can accept two 4-bit inputs. (To represent a single octal number, you would only need 3 input lines).
  4. May 21, 2005 #3

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member