1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Questions about School

1. Jun 30, 2010 #1
    Hi Im an entering freshman going to Georgia Tech in the fall and I plan to major in physics.

Now even though it is probably too early for me to decide this I want to specialize in Nuclear Physics, and of course get my Doctorate. Basically I plan to stay in school till I get my doctorate. Anyways, I was wondering, would it be helpful for me to seek a nuclear physicist and ask them about undergraduate research opportunities early on? And also, what would be some great schools to specialize in nuclear physics? I was wondering about MIT, but I'm not sure if this is just some generic thought that since they are MIT..they would of course have what I need.

All of this is based off of the fact that I think all of the nuclear physicist here are Emeritus and im basically guessing that I wouldn't get a nuclear physicist as an advisor here, since I dont think there are many.

Here are the questions again in case I digressed and lost you, I do that...

1. Should I seek a nuclear physicist on campus for Undergrad research opportunities?
    2. What would be a great fit for grad school if I wanted to specialize in nuclear physics?
    3. How great of a school is GaTech for physics in general, and Nuclear physics?
    Plus any other helpful advice you could give a budding freshman majoring in physics.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 1, 2010 #2
    1.) You should always ask, you should always keep your ears open for those opportunities. Research will not fall into your lap- you have to go out and seek it.