1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Quick integration question!

1. Apr 19, 2010 #1
    Not really a homework question, but

After separation of variables of the time independant schrodinger equation i get, one equation

[tex]\frac{d \varphi}{\partial t} = -\frac{i}{\hbar}E \varphi dt[/tex]

which i need to solve,
    so i multiply through by dt and integrate giving me

[tex] \int d\varphi = \int -\frac{i}{\hbar} E \varphi dt [/tex]

now I realize that some of these variables are constants, like [tex]\hbar[/tex]

But I don't know how to integrate the right side of that equation
    so what I'm asking

is how does,
    [tex] \int -\frac{i}{\hbar} E \varphi dt [/tex]

become

[tex] e^{-iE\frac{t}{\hbar}} [/tex]
    could someone please explain it?

(i'm not very good at this kind of integration,

how do i know when integrating something, that it becomes an exponential function?

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 19, 2010 #2
    thank you in advance.

4. Apr 19, 2010 #3

Mark44

Staff: Mentor

Is this your differential equation?
    [tex]\frac{d \phi}{dt} = -\frac{i}{\hbar}E \phi [/tex]

In other words, it's just the derivative of phi with respect to t on the left side, and there's no dt on the right side.

Any time you have a differential equation of the form dy/dt = Ky, the solution is an exponential function: y(t) = AeKt.

The only function whose derivative is a constant multiple of itself is eKt.

5. Apr 19, 2010 #4
    so because [tex] -\frac{i}{\hbar} E [/tex] is constant, (calling it K)

[tex] \frac{dy}{dt} [/tex] is equivalent to my [tex] \frac{d\phi}{dt} [/tex]

and Ky is my [tex] K \phi [/tex]

giving [tex] \phi (t) = e^{-\frac{i}{h}Et} [/tex]
    ----------------------------

I don't really know how it is a constant multiple of itself when differentiated