Help with Quotient Spaces: A Guide

• Thread starter matheinste
  • Start date
  • Tags
    quotient
In summary: Hi, I'm new to all of this, but I'm thinking that I understand what you're saying. So, in summary, quotient spaces can be used to set things equal to zero, and they arise from linear maps. They can also be used to describe periodic boundary conditions. Finally, quotients can be used to describe potentials in a very mathematical way.
matheinste
Help needed to eventually understand Quotient spaces.

Attachments

• QuotientSpaces.pdf
    20.2 KB · Views: 251
Physics news on Phys.org
The notation v+W refers to what is called the coset of W containing v, which is just the set:

[tex] v + W = \{ v + w | w \in W \} [/tex]

So, for example, 0+W is just W, as is w+W for any w in W, and v+W = v'+W (as sets) if and only if v-v' is in W (you should try proving these facts). So another way of thinking of the quotient space is as the set of cosets v+W. Scalar multiplication is defined by a(v+W)=(av)+W, and similarly for vector addition, and its not hard to check this makes V/W into a vector space with W as the zero vector.

Thankyou StatusX.

I have looked at cosets and now understand ( or at least I think I do ) what is going on. My interest is in physics and so I will now go on to learn why we would construct such an entity as a quotient set in real situations. I will probably need more help in future.

Thanks again for your straightforward explanation. Matheinste.

Quotient spaces occur when you want to set somethings equal to zero. That is where they occur through out maths in various context. In physics, you might want to quotient out some space of operators by those vanishing on certain initial conditions, for instance. Everytime you use vector spaces, you will use quotient spaces. There is nothing hard or mysterious about them. They are very good to think about because they force you to stop thinking about bases which are a hindrance to understanding anything.