1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

R eqivalence help!

1. Oct 16, 2008 #1
    hello..i am studying CCE and i have some difficulties in electric circuit..
    i don not know how to determine a resistance equivalence between 2 terminals..i am unable to know which resistances are in series and which are paralle..can someone help me?

for example i have the following circuit:

and i need to determine Req between terminals ab when:

a)when terminals cd are open -circuited
    b)when erminals cd are short-circuited

Thank you and i relly need help:S

I have my quizzes comming up next week

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 16, 2008 #2
    unfold/redraw it
  4. Oct 16, 2008 #3
    i do not have to draw it again..it is clear enough..
    u have 4 resistance( 6,8,10 and 12) and you have to determine the R eq between terminals ab
  5. Oct 16, 2008 #4

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

D'oh! :rolleyes: Proton Soup means it would be a lot easier if you re-drew the diagram by picking up bd and turning it round (so it's db from left to right), so that the circuit becomes untwisted. :smile:
  6. Oct 17, 2008 #5
    idid not understand!what happens then?
    how do i turn it around?
  7. Oct 17, 2008 #6

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

It's like a letter X, with the lines AD and BC crossed.

Just turn the bottom line (BD) round so that AD and BC are vertical, and not crossing each other.

Then it's much easier to see what's in series and what's in parallel. :smile:
  8. Oct 17, 2008 #7
    sry but I ain't understanding..can you please draw it for me,or a simple sample..thank you tiny-tim and i really appreciate your help
  9. Oct 17, 2008 #8
    anyone there?
    please just redraw the figure and I will try to figure out the answers by myself please help!