Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Radar Imaging - Non-doppler

1. Jul 9, 2012 #1
    Hey all,

I am brand new to the world of signal processing and radar, but I am trying to simulate a non-doppler imaging radar using pulses. I understand most of the concepts, including steering vectors and measuring distance by the time delay of a radar pulse. I am using a stationary antenna. I don't understand how to get the angle of the target from a 2d signal! I realize it probably has to do with phase, but I am unable to find anything on the subject.

Anyone have some sources or insight?

Thanks,
    Wapochief

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 10, 2012 #2

Bobbywhy

Gold Member

Wapochief, If you already understand beam steering vectors for transmitting a radar pulse with a fixed antenna, then determining the angle of the target is basically just the reverse. Have you done a Google search using the terms "phased array radar"? I am fairly certain the answer to your question will be found there. If not, do come right back here and post your specific question.

4. Jul 10, 2012 #3
    Hi Bobbywhy,

So suppose I only have one TX and one RX antenna - both stationary, near each other and pointed in the same direction. From my understanding, the steering vectors are just 1 for each. But how do I get the angle of the target? I am trying to create an Angle/Range map.

Thanks

5. Jul 10, 2012 #4

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

If you only have one set of TX/RX antennas, you steer them mechanically. To steer electrically with phasing, you need a 2-d array of antennas.

6. Jul 10, 2012 #5

Bobbywhy

Gold Member

Using the Google search terms “radar phased array beamformer time domain” this appeared and, hopefully, it will provide the answer(s) you want: