Wave-Particle Duality: Random Photon Emission

In summary, the wave-particle duality is all about understanding how the universe behaves as if it is governed by a kind of "randomness" that is inherent to the reality/universe. We don't really know why this is the case, but it is an important part of quantum physics.
severo
Hello,

I'm studying the wave-particle duality, more specifically the matter-wave function of de Broglie:

[itex]\Psi[/itex](x,t)=A sin 2[itex]\pi[/itex]([itex]\frac{x}{\lambda}[/itex]-[itex]\nu[/itex] t)

where [itex]\lambda[/itex] is the de Broglie wave-length and [itex]\nu[/itex] is the frequency.

The interpretation of this wave is that, [itex]\Psi^{2}[/itex] would be the probability of finding the particle in a certain region of space and time.

For this to be true, we assume that a point font of radiation emits photons randomly and in all directions.

I want to know: why is the emission random?.

Physics news on Phys.org
severo said:
Hello,

I'm studying the wave-particle duality, more specifically the matter-wave function of de Broglie:

[itex]\Psi[/itex](x,t)=A sin 2[itex]\pi[/itex]([itex]\frac{x}{\lambda}[/itex]-[itex]\nu[/itex] t)

where [itex]\lambda[/itex] is the de Broglie wave-length and [itex]\nu[/itex] is the frequency.

The interpretation of this wave is that, [itex]\Psi^{2}[/itex] would be the probability of finding the particle in a certain region of space and time.

For this to be true, we assume that a point font of radiation emits photons randomly and in all directions.

I want to know: why is the emission random?.

Per our current understanding of QM, the universe/reality is that way.

Randomness is inherent property of the fabric of reality. That's all we can say per our current understanding of knowledge/QM.

Perhaps there is a philosophical/meta-physical answer to this, namely:

At the fundamental level things have to be random, else the universe/time-space would not start (be created).

I see,