1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Random questions

1. Jul 30, 2008 #1
    I have two very random questions, just looking for people's opinions...

1) Is it inappropriate to buy a gift for my research advisor when I graduate? I'll be getting my Bachelor's degree, so I'm just an undergrad, but my advisor has helped me so much with everything (research, general physics, motivation, etc.) and I feel like it would be nice to do something for him when I leave... but is that highly atypical or might he find it weird (I'm a woman, I don't want him to have the wrong idea)

and

2) Again, a woman's issue - if I have already published a paper, but am getting married, what is the standard in terms of future publications - that is, do I keep publishing with my maiden name so as to not lose association with my prior work, or do I start publishing with my married name?

Thanks, curious as to what you all think

quasar

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 30, 2008 #2

mgb_phys

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Something like a box of chocolates or a bottle of wine would probably be safe.

Everybody I know uses their maiden name
    Without being too insensitive - papers often last longer than marriages!

4. Jul 30, 2008 #3

Mute

Homework Helper

I gave my research advisor two bottles of wine (one white and one red, as I didn't know his preference) as a gift, and I even gave a bottle of wine to my first research advisor, so I don't see anything wrong with it. I don't think he should get any wrong ideas (unless you got him a really expensive watch or something =P), but you could always just say it's a gift for giving you research opportunities and general help.