APU University Student Seeks Support for Analogue Electronics Exam Preparation

In summary, a student is trying to figure out how to calculate the values of various components in a circuit, and is asking for help. The person responding provides a summary of the content, and provides some resources for further learning.
skinnyl
Hi all!

I'm a student in APU University, Cambridge, England. One of my modules is Analogue Electronics, Exams are a few weeks away and i wanted to get an idea of how well I've grasped some of the concepts. We have been given a sheet to work through but have no one to mark it as all lectures are off site.

just wanted to make sure i was on the right track. here's part of it:-

Circuit Diagram - http://www.mwdata.plus.com/diagram.JPG

a) Show that the capacitor C1 has a capacitance of about 13nF.

so C1= 1/(2*Pi*f*Xc)

1/(2*Pi*2000*6000)

=13nF? i think that's ok

b) Calculate the magnitude of the combined impedance of the capacitor C1 in series with R1.

so Z total= Zr1+Zc1?

Z total = 14kOhm?

c) Calculate the current I1 in the circuit.

I1 = Ir1+Ic1?

Ir1=v/r
=3/8000
=3.75mA?

Ic1=3/6000
=5mA?

total = 8.75mA?

d) Calculate the voltage Vc1 across the capacitor C1.

so Vc1= Ic1 * Xc
=0.0005*6000
=3v?

Thank You In Advance.

Jack Wood.

Physics news on Phys.org
a) is correct. d) is correct except you got the wrong value of Ic.

b) Not quite. If you draw a vector diagram of the voltages in the circuit you will have something like this:
Code:
|   /
|  /
| /
|/____