Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Re: Quark numbers?

1. Feb 17, 2006 #1
    You'll have to excuse my ignorance I am fairly new to physics, having only the sort of predegree level of maths knowledge and a few ideas.

How do we come to the conclusion that baryons have 3 quarks and fermions have 2? Is there a mathematical reason for this? I assume this is proven or bourne out by experimental data too? I just remember reading that these fundemental particles come in these pairings and can see why it works as regards charge and spin but I could just as easily say there are 6 quarks or 12? Or I could say there are an infinite number of quasi quarks or they don't exist or whatever?

So obviously my preposterous other theories are false, how do we maintain the ideas that there are up down down, is it something to do with the weak force? Or is there something more fundemental that leads us to this conclusion.
  2. jcsd
  3. Feb 17, 2006 #2

Staff: Mentor

You mean mesons, not fermions.

These particular combinations were originally proposed because they can explain the way that the various baryons and mesons can be classified according to their properties. This is rather similar to the way that QM's description of the atom can explain the way that the various elements can be classified according to their properties in the periodic table.

We also have more direct evidence for quarks in that particles scatter off each other in high-energy collisions in ways that we can explain (as far as we know) only by assuming they are made up of more fundamental particles that actually perform the scattering. This is rather similar to the way that Rutherford scattered alpha particles off of atoms and used the results to deduce that an atom must have a small, massive nucleus.