Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Recommendations of good books

1. Nov 14, 2004 #1
    Hello everyone, I wanted to ask you if you could recommend some, in your mind, excellent books( That every physicist would want) of the Quantum side of the universe. As im still an undergrad, I still am unclear about how QED, QCD, ect fit into the Quantum Universe. I would also like them to have a little history of each theory. IF I am unclear, please say so and I will try to elaborate more. Again, thanks for your replies. :smile:

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 14, 2004 #2

nrqed

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

As first introductions to field theory, I think Griffith's Introduction to Elementary Particle and Aitchison and Hey's Gauge Theories in Particle Physics are the best. As an historical account, my all-time favorite is "The second Creation" by Crease and Mann.

Regards,

Pat

4. Nov 14, 2004 #3
    Thank you! I will look in to them

5. Nov 14, 2004 #4

nrqed

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

You're very welcome. Those are really the best starting points, imho.

As next steps after these books, I would suggest "Quarks and leptons" by Halzen and Martin, "Gauge Theories of the Strong, Weak, and Electromagnetic Interactions" by Chris Quigg as well as "Relativiistic Quantum Mechanics and Field Theory" by Gross.

And any book by Greiner is highly recommended (QCD, QED, etc etc).

After that, you can get to Peskin and Schroeder, Cheng and Li, the first two field theory books by Weinberg, "Quantum Field Theory in a nutshell" by Zee, "Dynamics of the Standard Model" by Donoghue et al.

6. Nov 16, 2004 #5
    Hi,