1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Recurrence equation with sum

1. Oct 16, 2011 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    I need to solve a recurrence equation in order to perform algorithm analysis. I got the recurrence from the algorithm I developed. It's been years since I did my undergrad degree and my maths is rusty.

2. Relevant equations
    [itex]T(n)= 1+ \sum_{i=1}^n2(n-i+T(i)) [/itex]

3. The attempt at a solution
    This is how far I got:
    [itex]T(n)= 1+ \sum_{i=1}^n(2n-2i+2T(i)) [/itex]
    [itex]T(n)= 1+ 2\sum_{i=1}^nn-2\sum_{i=1}^ni+2\sum_{i=1}^nT(i) [/itex]
    [itex]T(n)= 1+ 2n^2-2\frac{n(n+1)}{2}+2\sum_{i=1}^nT(i) [/itex]
    [itex]T(n)= 1+ n^2-n+2\sum_{i=1}^nT(i) [/itex]

I'm not sure what to do with that T(i) in the sum. I tried this:
    [itex]T(n)= 1+ n^2-n+2\frac{T(n)(T(n)+1)}{2} [/itex]
    [itex]T(n)= 1+ n^2-n+T(n)T(n)+T(n) [/itex]

But what do I do with that T(n)T(n)? Can it be further simplified?
    Can I say [itex]T(n)T(n)=T^2(n)[/itex] or [itex]T(n)T(n)=T(n^2)[/itex]

When I'm done simplifying I need to apply substitution, recursion tree or master theorem method to finish it off.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 16, 2011 #2
    Forget your approach [itex]T(n)= 1+ n^2-n+2\frac{T(n)(T(n)+1)}{2}[/itex] That doesn't work!
    Instead, rewrite T(n) as
    [tex] T(n) = -1 -n^2 + n - 2 \sum_{i=1}^{n-1} T(i)[/tex]
    Then start with T(1):
    [tex] T(1) = -1 - 1^2 + 1 = -1 [/tex]
    Now
    [tex] T(2) = -1 - 2^2 + 2 - 2 * ( -1 -1^2 + 1) [/tex]
    Now
    [tex] T(3) = -1 - 3^2 + 3 - 2 * ( -1 - 2^2 + 2 - 2 * (-1 - 1^2 + 1)) [/tex]
    [tex] T(3) = - 1 - 3^2 + 3 + (-2) * (-1 - 2^2 + 2) + (-2)^2 * (-1 - 1^2 + 1) [/tex]