Relation between lux and W/m^2

In summary,-Watts measure power, while lumens measure the response of the eye to that power.-1 lux is 1 lumen per m2-1 lumen is 1 candela . steradian-1 candela is equivalent to ##\frac{1}{683}## watt per steradian of green light (555nm)-The validity of any of these measurements is questionable.
says

Homework Statement

I posted this in anther forum but I think it might be better to post it here.

I was wondering if anyone could help me understand the conversion between lux and W/m2 with relation to luminous efficacy (lm/W).

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

Physics news on Phys.org
It's not clear where your difficulty lies. Do you understand the relationship between lux and lumens?
Watts measure power, while lumens measure the response of the eye to that power. This response will depend on the wavelengths involved.

I'm no expert on this, but as I understand it
1 Lux is 1 Lumen per m2
1 Lumen is 1 Candela . Steradian
1 Candela is equivalent to ##\frac{1}{683}## watt per steradian of green light (555nm)

So 1 lux is ##\frac{1}{683}## watt/m2 for that green light, but this gets a bit complicated, because the definition of the candela in watts is at a specific frequency. The lumen weights different frequencies according to their visual effect (sensitivity of the eye), so other colours need greater powers.
A source radiating a power of one watt of light in the color for which the eye is most efficient (a wavelength of 555 nm, in the green region of the optical spectrum) has luminous flux of 683 lumens. So a lumen represents at least 1/683 watts of visible light power, depending on the spectral distribution. (from WikiP - Lumen)

I think this article (Energy Efficiency of LEDs) might give you the sort of info you need. It explains the intricacies of luminous efficacy (both sorts) and gives examples of the sort of data you're interested in.