Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Relatives!

1. Aug 31, 2004 #1

Ivan Seeking

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I'm sitting here stewing; I'm so PO'd right now!!!

A close relative is trying to get me to falsify a physics calculation that will be used in a court of law. He and a former employer are going to court and he is trying to use me to win the suit based on a lie!!! He wants me to commit fraud. I'm a professional consultant for crying out loud.

God I hate this. I decided to do the calculation, but whether it helps or hurts him is not my problem. I told him it is what it is. The sucker even pressured me by emphasizing that about $200,000 rests in the balance. "It all depends on your calculation" he says. Tough!!!

Sorry for the b***** session but I am so ******* ******* that I can't even ***** think right now. ******, ***** this is ******* ******!!!!

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 31, 2004 #2

Evo

Staff: Mentor

The nerve of some people. He's asking you to not only jeopardize your career, but commit a crime!

I hope you have a copy of your calculation in case someone "modifies" your work.

4. Aug 31, 2004 #3
    Its a sad fact of life that money makes people behave badly. Even the best of us can be led astray by the lure. And to prove it, I'll do the calculation for 20% less than Seeking is asking, and come up with whatever answer seems the most appropriate. I can be contacted via this thread. Used bills only.

5. Aug 31, 2004 #4

jimmy p

Gold Member

I'm intrigued... what is behind them asterisks? :wink: That bites. I hate being blackmailed by relatives. They are supposed to be the ones you trust.

6. Aug 31, 2004 #5
    Although I can understand his position, his problem is not your problem. I recommend that you do not do anything against your ethical beliefs. The poblem is his, do not make it yours.

7. Aug 31, 2004 #6

Moonbear