Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Renormalization problem

1. Sep 26, 2003 #1
    Where could i find a good introductionto renormalization theory ? ( i have a degree in physics but i do not know about renormalization).
    In fact i have some questions:
    Let us suppose we have the series:

f(g)=a0+a1g+a2g**2+.. where g is the coupling constant and a0,a1,a2,a3..an are numerical values (real or complex)

then just suppose that some of them a1,a5,a7 for example give an infinite value...how could you re-arrange the series or what trick is used to remove these infinites

If all the an where infinite ..how could you remove them?..

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 26, 2003 #2

ahrkron

Staff Emeritus
    Gold Member

Many QFT books have good accounts of renormalization. I like Peskin and Schroeder. M. Kaku's is good also.

If you don't have access to them, you can also take alook at the online book used for the thread on QFT here in the forums.

4. Sep 26, 2003 #3

selfAdjoint

Staff Emeritus
    Gold Member
    Dearly Missed

Note that many texts, like P&S, use the word renormalization in a different sense than it used to be. What used to be called renormalization is now called regularization (as in "Pauli-Villars regularization" and "Dimensional regularization"). The result of regularization is to leave an undetermined quantity in the integrals as the price for eliminationg the ultraviolet divergences. After the integrals are formed the process now called renormalization happens, to remove the undetermined quantity by folding it into an overall constant.

5. Sep 30, 2003 #4

jeff

Science Advisor

For clear, uncomplicated introductions which emphasize the conceptual aspects see Zee's new book Quantum theory in a nutshell

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/t...=sr_1_1/002-5004785-5718404?v=glance&s=books,