1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Research Decisions

1. Nov 2, 2009 #1
    I am a physics masters student, I have the following choices of research:

Experimental Research in nuclear physics

OR

Theoretical Research on the foundations of quantum physics

Everything else being equal, meaning If I choose the experimental route, I will get equal grades, equal physics GRE scores, and equal letters of recommendation in comparison to the theoretical route. Which area of research will maximize my chances of getting into a PhD program?

Or phrased another way, which area of research do most PhD programs look for?

Thank You

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 2, 2009 #2
    It's really hard to say because things are school specific.

If you had to really pin me down, I'd say that the nuclear physics would be more useful, since there is an larger overlap between experimental nuclear physics and other seemingly non-related physics. For example, if you know nuclear physics, then you can get into a school in astrophysics which is interested in nucleosynthesis. If you can build instruments then you might be able to get somewhere where their is an opening in particle physics experimentalists.

4. Nov 2, 2009 #3
    Also you wouldn't happen to be at the College of William and Mary? If by "fundamentals of quantum physics" you mean stuff like what the Delos group is doing there, then that's a different situation since what they are doing there is generally applicable to unrelated fields of physics.

5. Nov 3, 2009 #4
    Oh no, I am not at College of William and Mary, but you mentioned their work on fundamentals of quantum mechanics may have applications to other fields? How applicable is research on the fundamentals of QM to other fields if at all?