1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Resonance structures

1. Mar 17, 2007 #1
    hi :biggrin: please help. thankyouuu :]

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    i am studying for my apchem exam in may.and got stuckup on a question. it's just a little exercise.so the answers aren't there.but ok here it is;
    give the resonance structures of PO4 (3-) and there's supposed to be four

2. Relevant equations
    none?

3. The attempt at a solution
    i started drawing it so..
    PO4 (3-) = 5 + (6*4) +3 = 32/2 = 16 pairs of electrons so...

O
    |
    O -- P --- O
    |
    O

so there's the single bonds (8 electrons: octet rule) for P and then 6 electrons around each O to complete O's octet rule.
    and my problem is...where's the dang resonance structure? :eek: because everyone gets their electrons.and is happy. unless of course P has an expanded octet and gets more than 8?
    i don't know. please help me. thankuuuu :biggrin:
    'ppreciate it alottttt.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 17, 2007 #2
    sorry.

ewwww.my molecular structure messed up. hopefully you guys will understand what i'm talking aboutt.
    gracias y adios
    :biggrin: <- i like that smiley

4. Mar 17, 2007 #3
    how about one double bound, two single bound and another oxygen atom just dangling around, sucking the electron from the P and not sharing any?

I might be wrong though... it's been a while since that ap chem exam....

5. Mar 18, 2007 #4

t!m

This isn't a resonance structure - by definition, connectivity must remain unchanged; you can only move electrons.