Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Restricive air way disease

1. Oct 30, 2009 #1
    Restricitive air way disease is the loss of lung compliance. So this would make it harder for the lung to expand causing inspiration difficult.

My questioon is why can't this make exhaling difficult. Losing the elasticity of the lung would make both recoil and expansion difficult right. This might sound funny but let's say the lung was in expanded position and then suddenly lost its elasticity, wouldn't this make exhaling difficult.

Is barrel chest restricive or obstructive air way disease.

Thanks a lot for your help in advance :smile:

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 30, 2009 #2

Andy Resnick

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Interesting question... I think.

I'm not an expert, but my understanding is that inhalation involves relaxation of the diaphragm and can be considered a 'passive' process, while exhalation involves contraction of the diaphragm and is thus 'forced'. You can increase the resistance to breathing by pursing your lips- it's a good trick to increase the uptake of O2 during aerobic exercise- and in my experience, inhalation is made significantly more difficult than exhalation.

4. Oct 31, 2009 #3

Moonbear

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

It's the other way around. Contraction of the diaphragm flattens it, which expands the space in the pleural cavity for inspiration to occur. Relaxation of the diaphragm returns it to it's dome-shaped position during exhalation. The intercostal muscles (between the ribs) also contribute to inspiration and expiration, and there are some other weak accessory muscles.

Someone who is "barrel chested" usually has COPD, and may use other muscles that are not typically considered muscles of respiration to compensate for the additional work needed for each inhalation.