Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

REU Indecisiveness!

1. Apr 1, 2010 #1
    Hey guys, ive been following the forum for some time,

I am a sophomore, and I applied to about 12 REU programs this semester, since I have a 2.9 GPA and was not even expecting to get into any since they are so competitive.
    Turns out I got into two! and I have to make a decision by monday.

On one hand I feel lucky that I have the ability to even choose, but at the same I still wish/hope that I get into my top choice REU program, but I do not think I will hear from them on monday. I already emailed asking for the status of my application, and they said they were still not finished.

I am conflicted if to choose one of these REUs or take a chance and hope that my first choice or the other 8 accept me.

what should I do? And does prestige matter when it comes to REUs

thanks for your time

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 1, 2010 #2
    Personally I think taking a chance is stupid unless you have some kind of guaranteed back up plan that is at least as good as one of the two REUs you have been accepted to. A less prestigious REU is infinitely more valuable than a summer doing nothing.

4. Apr 1, 2010 #3

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Well, it sounds like you'll have to make a decision then. You have to weigh the guaranteed options that you have against the probability that you'll get into a more desirable program each mulitiplied by the desirability of the respective program.

The one hint I have is that from my experience "prestige" is highly subjective and you should avoid making decisions based on it.

5. Apr 2, 2010 #4
    My recommendation is to not take the chance. REUs in general are all really selective and "prestigious." I don't think you need to worry about how different REUs compare to one another in prestige.

6. Apr 2, 2010 #5
    hey thanks for the responses