1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Review before gradschool

1. Jun 3, 2007 #1
    I'm starting grad school this fall for my PhD, and want to review material before I take my classes again. After talking to the department chair she was suggesting all students retake the undergrad core courses their first semester (Quantum, Statmecn/thermo, theo mech) so that they have a solid understanding. She said some students dont take it but its always better to. Well im only a year out of undergrad and I got A's in all my cores, and I still remember most of the material (I think?). So I'm wondering what I should review so I could take the grad level courses as soon as I start, thus completing my degree a little quicker and avoiding spending 3 months relearning the quantum I already know.

My question mainly is: I don't have my books anymore (Well, sold my QM book, I have my thermo/stat one, and Theo Mech there was no book.) Whats a good book or site to review these subjects at the advanced undergrad level? Just to make sure I remember most of it, and still understand it.

Also, anything good for nuclear or particle classes (undergrad level). Just want to make sure I'm up to speed.
  2. jcsd
  3. Jun 3, 2007 #2

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

For quantum, you could read from a different book. If you learned from a C-T styled textbook, try Sakurai.

For classical mech, read the parts in Goldstein that were skipped (for instance the most general case of Neother thm probably)
  4. Jun 3, 2007 #3