Proving Ring Isomorphism using the First Isomorphism Theorem

In summary: I don't know, could you explain to me why 1 is the minimal polynomial? I'm trying to understand this concept as much as I can.Also, it's not that I'm new to this, but I'm not an expert. This is the first time I'm seeing the first isomorphism theorem. Everything else is review for me.I don't know, could you explain to me why 1 is the minimal polynomial? I'm trying to understand this concept as much as I can.Also, it's not that I'm new to this, but I'm not an expert. This is the first time I'm seeing the first isomorphism theorem. Everything else is review for me.Sure. The minimal polynomial of ##
STEMucator
Homework Helper

Homework Statement

The question : http://gyazo.com/5372336302b5ef289b305172bcd16a2a

Homework Equations

First Isomorphism theorem.

The Attempt at a Solution

Define [itex]\phi : \mathbb{Q}[x]/<x^2-2> → Q[ \sqrt{2} ] \space | \space \phi (f(x)) = f( \sqrt{2})[/itex]

So showing phi is a homomorphism is quite easy so I'll skip those details.

My question lies in my argument for phi being a bijection. I COULD show it's 1-1 and onto which would mean it's an isomorphism, but I need practice with the first isomorphism theorem so I'm going to try it and hope I know what's going on.

So, I believe I need to show phi is onto and then argue about the kernel.

To show phi is onto, suppose (a+b√2) is in Q[√2] and f(x) is in Q[x]/<x2-2> so that f(x) = ax+b.

Now, [itex]\phi (f(x)) = f( \sqrt{2}) = a + b \sqrt{2}[/itex]. Hence for every a+b√2 in Q[√2] there exists f(x) in Q[x]/<x2-2> such that phi(f(x)) = a+b√2.

Hence phi is onto.

Now consider that ker(phi) = { f(x) in Q[x]/<x2-2> | f(√2) = 0 }. Since x2-2 is in ker(phi) and x2-2 is of the smallest degree, we conclude that ker(phi) = x2-2 and hence by the first isomorphism theorem, Q[x]/<x2-2> is isomorphic to Q[√2].