1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Robotics graduate school advice

1. Jun 3, 2012 #1
    I would like to pursue a graduate degree, and I am set to graduate in Fall 2012. I would love if someone could give me a little advice tailored towards my current situation and goals.

Please and thank you! Here's my story...

I'm a computer engineering student entering my fifth year at University Of Central Florida. I have become interested in going to graduate school because I really love to learn, teach, and innovate. I have a 3.8 GPA. My extra curriculars have been:
    • A semester of research (unfortunately I never made enough headway to get published)
    • A year of physics tutoring
    • A year of working at lockheed martin as a software developer
    • Robotics club, a small competition
    • I'm beginning a job as a research assistant at a human-robot-interaction lab this summer.
    • My senior design project is a robotic chess board.
    • My electives are focused on AI robotics.

I only have two classes left (AI and senior design II). I will graduate this December. I need to decide where I'm going to grad school and when I will be applying.

The following are my goals
    • Receive financial assistance throughout my grad education so I don't have to live off of loans. I live very simply on about $12k a year currently and I would like to maintain a similar lifestyle and remain debt free.
    • Get a master's degree from a decent school.
    • Have the freedom to pursue a Ph.D. after a master's.
    • Possibly apply for a Ph.D. program straight away if I'm qualified