Designing a Rocket Airframe with Carbon Fiber

In summary, Ali was asking for help with a Preliminary Design Review for a rocket project. She is a sophomore Aerospace major and is new to the rocket student group at her university. She is leaving town tomorrow morning and will have no access to internet until Monday (the paper is to be done by Tuesday). She asked if anyone had any good reads on Rocket Airframe, where she could save onto her laptop and read it while she's out of town. There are a lot of advantages and disadvantages to using carbon fiber for a rocket airframe, and she is interested in learning more.
Kimusubi
I'm a sophomore Aerospace major, and I'm also a new member to a rocket student group at my university. We are currently involved in a competition with NASA, and they have asked our group to write a Preliminary Design Review. Everything was split up, and I was left with the rocket's airframe design. I unfortunately have never taken a single Aerospace class and I have no idea where to start. I'm also leaving town tomorrow morning and will have no access to internet until Monday (the paper is to be done by Tuesday). So I was wondering if anyone had any good reads on Rocket Airframe, where I could save onto my laptop and read it while I'm out of town. We're using carbon fiber for the airframe, so if anyone has any reads on why it would be beneficial to use carbon fiber, please let me know. Again, I'm not too familiar with any of this, but I'm really interested in learning, so any help is HIGHLY appreciated. Thank you all in advance for your help!

- Ali

Physics news on Phys.org
I can't really speak to shape, which I think depends upon the purpose of the rocket. Carbon fibre has the advantage of extreme strength and flexibility combined with low weight. Weight means an awful lot to anything that flies.