When should parents stop giving allowances to their children?

• Thread starter kant
  • Start date
In summary: I had to get a job. I'm 23 now and I work part time in a store. At 24, it's not really appropriate to be receiving an allowance from your parents. You should be able to support yourself. I never really got an allowance, except when I was really little and got something like 50 cents a week to stick in my piggy bank. Then again, until I left for college, my parents bought anything I needed (NOT anything I wanted). Once I was in college, they'd help out here and there with book money or tuition, but for anything else I needed,...well, I had to get a job. I agree.
kant
Well, i had a roommate that gets allowance( 70dollars/week) from his( he is 24 years old) parents. i do not know if it would be acceptable to ask him questions regarding his allowance. Do any of you get "allownces" from your parents? what amount, and how frequent do they give it to you. When should parents stop give allowance to their child anyway? How old is old enough to stop receiving allowances?

Physics news on Phys.org
No I don't. You could ask him questions about it, but don't be surprised if he gets ratty with you for being nosey. It's up to the parents, if they have the means to help him out then fair play.

Why would it matter to you?

I am 43 years old and both of my parents are deceased and I miss them dearly.
When I was younger my parents never bought me a car. I stopped reveiving an allowance when I got my first paper route. In my opinion, a 24 year old should not be receiving money from his/her parents unless he/she is in college. Even if this is the case, he or she should get a part time job to help relieve some of the burden he/she is putting on his parents.
If he or she is paying the bills on time then you shouldn't butt into his or her financial business

RAD4921 said:
I am 43 years old and both of my parents are deceased and I miss them dearly.