Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Root of 2 and area

1. Mar 25, 2008 #1
    Ok, so doing a physics problem the other day I had to find a point c on a graph such that there was an equal amount of area between 0 and c and c and a point b > c. I found that for the graph f(x) = kx, the point was b over the square root of 2. This intrigued me so I looked for a generalization. Does this look correct? I'm still a low level math student (only in Calculus 2) so I don't know anything about the correct way to solve this stuff. Is this a proof as well? If not, how would I prove it?

[tex]f(x) = kx^n[/tex]

[tex]\int_{0}^{c} kx^n dx = \int_{c}^{b} kx^n dx[/tex]

[tex]k\int_{0}^{c} x^n dx = k\int_{c}^{b} x^n dx[/tex]

[tex]\left[ \frac{x^{n+1}}{n+1} \right]_{0}^{c} = \left[ \frac{x^{n+1}}{n+1} \right]_{c}^{b}[/tex]

[tex]c^{n+1} = b^{n+1} - c^{n+1}[/tex]

[tex]2c^{n+1} = b^{n+1}[/tex]

[tex]c = \frac{b}{\sqrt[n+1]{2}}[/tex]

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 25, 2008 #2
    Seems correct to me. Explicit calculation is one way of proving things, so this can be considered a proof (if you supplement it with some text and a statement of what you have actually proven, assumptions ...) For example, must your "n" be a natural number, can it be negative, rational, complex..?
  4. Mar 25, 2008 #3
    OK, I decided to try and generalize it a bit more, but I hit a wall.

Maybe this should go in homework help section at this point? I don't know.

But anyways, I tried to generalize the same thing as the above, but with:

[tex]\sum_{i=1}^n k_i x^i[/tex]

I won't bother writing out all my work, but here is what I come up with:

[tex]\sum_{i=1}^n c^{i+1} = \frac{1}{2} \sum_{i=1}^n b^{i+1}[/tex]