Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Rotating Shaft Advise

1. Mar 18, 2008 #1
    I am unsure of where to begin to solve for my problem since I have no experience with rotating equipment. I have a 280mm rotating shaft @3000 RPM running thru a flat plate 45mm thick with a 300mm dianeter opening for the shaft. Being at sea level the one side has air pressure ratio of 1.000 while the other retains a pressure ratio of .8320. Does the rotation of the shaft create enough resistant force to prevent the environment of opposing sides from interacting with each other? Or do I assume there will be leakage fromone side to the other and ignore the forces of the rotating shaft as negligable?

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 18, 2008 #2

FredGarvin

Science Advisor

Is there some kind of seal in the plate that the shaft goes through? If there is nothing there then of course there will be leakage in the direction of the decreasing pressure.

What forces of the rotating shaft are you referring? Why would these forces have any impact on the flow rate through the opening. Your description makes me believe that there is no way the shaft can influence anything in that area.

4. Mar 18, 2008 #3
    "...What forces of the rotating shaft are you referring? Why would these forces have any impact on the flow rate through the opening. Your description makes me believe that there is no way the shaft can influence anything in that area."