Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Running on Gravel

1. Apr 10, 2010 #1
    Okay, so I was running the other day and thinking about friction as I hit a patch of gravel. I'm a new physics student so I know enough to think about some things but not enough to know the answers yet. Why is it that if friction works to slow down my velocity, then when there is less friction (ie...I hit the gravel as opposed to the dry pavement) why don't I go faster? I can't go faster on loose gravel....just trying to make a connection here. Thanks for your input!!!

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 10, 2010 #2
    Well, if I was cycling on a hard pavement and then went on to gravel, I don't think it would make my progress easier. The opposite, I would imagine. More opposition to my motion: slower speed. This is because the wheels dig in to the gravel and have to move gravel stones out of the way in order to roll forward.
    On the other hand, when trying to run on a surface, you need plenty of grip between your shoes and that surface. The gravel is not so helpful there either and would make it more difficult to run. This is because the gravel stones tend to slip and slide over each other.

4. Apr 10, 2010 #3
    Friction is required in transferring energy from your foot into your forward motion. When running on a surface with low enough friction, you begin to waste energy in this transfer because your foot spends some time sliding rather than staying planted. In this sense, a certain amount of friction is required to run, just as it is required for an object to roll down a hill. This is different from the role friction plays when sliding an object, which is the way friction is treated in most intro mechanics courses. In this case, friction gets in the way of sliding and slows down the object.

5. Apr 10, 2010 #4

Astronuc

Staff: Mentor