1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

SAT II Physics

Tags:
  1. Aug 25, 2009 #1
    I want to take SAT II Physics test in November. Problem is that I don't have any prior knowledge of the subject. I'm highly interested in it and have an idea about some topics since I'm also studying Mechanics in Math.

I want to know whether it is possible to self-study for the test and score a decent score before November. Also, from which book/internet resource should I study from? I have easy access to the Barron's book, and also might be able to find Princeton Review. Here are the topics which the book covers, if any of you don't know:

http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/SAT_II_Physics

I want to do this for 3 reasons:
    1. I'm interested in Physics and want a basic and good knowledge of it.
    2. The knowledge of it will help me immensely when doing the Mechanics portions of my Math and Further Math classes.
    3. I'll be able to take a SAT II other than Math IIC and it will help me meet the basic requirement of SAT IIs for many universities (2 subjects)

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 25, 2009 #2

thrill3rnit3

Gold Member

Mechanics, E&M, and modern physics in just 3 months?

Even at the basic level, cramming all those stuff in a short amount of time (especially when you have no prior knowledge of the subject) will be, in the least, tough.

4. Aug 25, 2009 #3

thrill3rnit3

Gold Member

And you're not going to "learn physics" just by cramming all the materials and taking a test.

5. Aug 25, 2009 #4
    Well I'm not saying that I want to get an 800 in it. Just want a respectable score and a good basic knowledge of the subject.

Oh, and I have a strong mathematical background and have a good idea of some of the stuff in mechanics, if that makes any difference.