Understanding the Absolute Value of a Quantum State

In summary: The answer is yes, that's correct. When you want to normalize a vector, you take the square root of the sum of the vectors.
Lindsayyyy
Hi everyone,

I'm new to quantum mechanics, so bear with me o:)

Homework Statement

I'm not sure if scaling is the right word here, but my problem is about the absolut value of a quantum mechanics state to be one. I have the state [tex] | \phi>[/tex] which is a linear combination of the states [tex] |+>[/tex] and [tex] |->[/tex]. The first task is about scaling my phi.

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

I know [tex] | \phi> = \lambda_1 |+> + \lambda_2 |->[/tex] whereas the lambdas are complex numbers.

Afterwards I used the definition of the scalar product to get the norm.
[tex] <\phi|\phi> = (\lambda_{1}' <+| + \lambda_{2}'<-|)(\lambda_1 |+> + \lambda_2 |->) [/tex]

lambda' is the complex conjugated
If I solve this I get an expression like : sqrt(a+b) wheres my a equals the realpart of my lambdas1 and b equals the real part of my lambdas2

Is that solution right or totally wrong?

Thanks for your help

Physics news on Phys.org
Lindsayyyy said:
Hi everyone,

Afterwards I used the definition of the scalar product to get the norm.
[tex] <\phi|\phi> = (\lambda_{1}' <+| + \lambda_{2}'<-|)(\lambda_1 |+> + \lambda_2 |->) [/tex]

lambda' is the complex conjugated
If I solve this I get an expression like : sqrt(a+b) wheres my a equals the realpart of my lambdas1 and b equals the real part of my lambdas2

Is that solution right or totally wrong?

I'm not sure what you mean when you say "If I solve this I get an expression like : sqrt(a+b) " What are you saying sqrt(a+b) should equal?

Anyway, I think the imaginary parts of each λ will be just as important as the real parts.

Note ##(\lambda_{1}' <+| + \lambda_{2}'<-|)(\lambda_1 |+> + \lambda_2 |->)## will expand to