1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Scaling of a quantum state

1. Oct 24, 2012 #1
    Hi everyone,

I'm new to quantum mechanics, so bear with me o:)

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

I'm not sure if scaling is the right word here, but my problem is about the absolut value of a quantum mechanics state to be one. I have the state [tex] | \phi>[/tex] which is a linear combination of the states [tex] |+>[/tex] and [tex] |->[/tex]. The first task is about scaling my phi.

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution

I know [tex] | \phi> = \lambda_1 |+> + \lambda_2 |->[/tex] whereas the lambdas are complex numbers.

Afterwards I used the definition of the scalar product to get the norm.
    [tex] <\phi|\phi> = (\lambda_{1}' <+| + \lambda_{2}'<-|)(\lambda_1 |+> + \lambda_2 |->) [/tex]

lambda' is the complex conjugated
    If I solve this I get an expression like : sqrt(a+b) wheres my a equals the realpart of my lambdas1 and b equals the real part of my lambdas2

Is that solution right or totally wrong?

Thanks for your help

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 24, 2012 #2

TSny

Homework Helper
    Gold Member

I'm not sure what you mean when you say "If I solve this I get an expression like : sqrt(a+b) " What are you saying sqrt(a+b) should equal?

Anyway, I think the imaginary parts of each λ will be just as important as the real parts.

Note ##(\lambda_{1}' <+| + \lambda_{2}'<-|)(\lambda_1 |+> + \lambda_2 |->)## will expand to

##\lambda_{1}'\lambda_{1} <+| +> \;+ \;\lambda_{1}'\lambda_{2}<+|-> \;+ \; \lambda_{2}'\lambda_{1}<-|+> \;+ \;\lambda_{2}'\lambda_{2}<-|->##

Try to simplify this.

4. Oct 24, 2012 #3
    first of all: thanks for the help

Is my attempt at a solution even right? I'm uncertain if that's the right approach.