1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Schools Schools for EE grad school

1. Dec 2, 2017 #1
    I'm applying to grad school (PhD) in EE. My degree is in engineering physics so I want to work on the parts of EE that would also be called applied physics. So things like quantum electronics, nanotech and electromagnetics.

I have already started applying to: UIUC, Cornell, USC, BU, GTECH. That's 5 so far. I think I need more options... I want my next options to be from lower tier universities.

A little a bit about my background.
    - I have a 4.0 GPA, have taken 2 graduate courses on computational science, have done 2 research projects in physics, will get 3 good recommendation letters.
    -I come from a mexican university, but I did an exchange program at a good university in the US which is where 'll be getting rec letters and where I did research projects and took graduate courses.
    -I am a US citizen.
    -I do not want to live in the southeast (Kentucky, Tennessee, N/S Carolina, Florida, etc.) .
    -I need funding, I can't pay for school and do not want to get a loan.
    -I'm Hispanic (admissions committees consider that nowadays).

Where should I apply to now? Given my background.

How many do you recommend applying to?

Thanks and if you need more info, please ask.

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 2, 2017 #2
    University of Michigan, University of Texas Austin, Purdue, University of Minnesota, Arizona State University, and University of Wisconsin Madison all have strong device physics groups. Also consider Harvard SEAS.

4. Dec 2, 2017 #3

Im looking for colleges lower in rank from the ones i mentioned. I want to aim lower. Do you also have any ideas for this?

Thanks.

5. Dec 3, 2017 #4