1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Science or Finance?

1. Sep 5, 2010 #1
    Hi, basically I'm trying to find a job but indecided as to where I want to go.

I've been applying to Finance stuff in the City cos the pay is good... and I think its pretty glamourous to work there... but I've not been having much success, probably cos my background is science and I have no business/finance experience whatsoever. And am not very numerate, and not THAT interested in business/money...

So I'm thinking maybe its better to stick to science cos thats what I know. I do enjoy learning about it, but I HATE lab work... but it would be so cool to discover something new in science. But to discover without lab work? seems unlikely...

I don't know what to do!

My dream (as stupid as it sounds) is to do something amazing with my life! haha. like something worthwhile, something that contributes to society. so science fits that pretty well...
    but in my past experiences of research, they've all been a lot of effort for a long time, but no reward. what if I never get lucky? and what if I go in to science (like start a phd) and find out that I dont like it anymore?

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 7, 2010 #2
    These are probably the two of the worst reasons to work in finance.

There's lots of jobs that aren't finance, where you can still make money.

What's your background?

Why don't you try to do theory?

4. Sep 7, 2010 #3
    Thanks for the comment.

So I have a Bachelor's degree in biology, have done a few months of lab research and also worked in a biotech company. But I didn't really like either cos research was fruitless and working in a production lab was horrible.
    You know, I just dont know if I am the type to succeed in science! For the following reasons: