1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Scope in Comp Science

1. Aug 4, 2010 #1
    HI guys Im a first year engineering student and have yet not decided upon my branch of engineering but over the last few weeks the field of comp sci is looking very attractive to me... So I would like to know that what is the scope in this field..especially AI(Artificial Intelligence).....And what are it's uses in Space Technology.....
    Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 5, 2010 #2
    One thing you should keep in mind is the difference between computer engineering, and computer science. Computer engineering is essentially electronic engineering with a focus on building computational systems. There's bound to be some programming in there as well, but little to none theoretical computer science compared to the other field.

Computer science, on the other hand, deals mostly with what is and isn't computable, and how efficiently. This is at the heart of theoretical computer science, and there are also many theoretical fields that are concerned with something else - graphics, image processing, natural language processing, AI,...

If there's one thing my CS degrees gave me after five years of study, it's disillusionment. The biggest problem with CS is the fact that it is not self-contained. Most of the interesting, hard stuff is built on mathematics, and throughout the degree you'll come to realize the simple truth that most of the stuff is really better done by mathematicians, partly because it was built by mathematicians. Simply because they have more math courses, practice, have solved more problems and were given more of a connected view of mathematics, not a cherry-picked collection of mostly discrete math that is just enough to get by.