What equipment do I need for EE labs and projects on a budget of $1500?

• Thread starter leright
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Equipment
In summary: You can find a decent power supply for around $60-100, and a decent multimeter for around $30. The scope and signal generator are both going to be a bit more expensive, but they're definitely worth it.
leright
Hi everyone. I am an EE student (dual major in physics and EE) and I am considering investing in a decent protoboard, oscilloscope, and signal generator. I also would like a decent power supply that has 5V, 12V and 15V DC and I want a decent multimeter. This will mainly be for labs and whatnot, as I do not want to have to rely on the school's equipment for everything, and I may want to do some projects of my own. I feel that if I am going into EE as a career and I plan on going to grad school, having these tools will be very useful to me. I have a budget of only around $1500...

Preferably, the scope and signal generator will be rather portable. I do not need a screen on the scope. It will suffice to have just a USB connection to a computer. For the signal generator and scope I am considering something like this.

http://www.saelig.com/miva/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=PS023&Category_Code=PS

Will this be what I want for general lab work and other mescellaneous projects?

What about for the power supply, protoboard (maybe I could find a protoboard WITH a ps), and multimeter?

Engineering news on Phys.org
http://www.saelig.com/miva/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=PS020&Category_Code=PS

this oscope looks good too.

anyone have any advice?

power supply, check out some of these: http://mpja.com/powersupply.asp

a good bench power supply is worth paying a little extra for, but it's a waste to dump a lot of money on one.

Last edited by a moderator: