1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Second Career in Physics

1. Jan 30, 2012 #1
    I'm not sure if this is the rights place to ask this question. If not, please direct me to the right forum section.

Background: I'm 38 yrs. old and am considering a career change. I have a bachelors in physiology and a masters in medical science. I have been working in medicine since. However, I think physics (astrophysics/astronomy?) may be what I'd really like to be doing. Even in undergrad., I had a strong interest in physics - just didn't think it was the right career at the time. Now, I am heavily considering pursuing it, but I need to get some more information.

Aside from more physics career research, I 'm trying to figure out how it could be done logistically. While I had 2 quarters of calc. and 1 yr of gen. physics, it was long ago and would probably need to retake those classes. Other than starting completely over as an undergrad (which is a little difficult as I work fulltime and can't quite finnacially swing being a fulltime student), how best could I purse this? I can take all the undergrad. math courses online, but actual physic courses would need to be done in a class/lab setting Would I need a bachelors in physics to get into grad. school? What undergrad. courses would I need to take for grad. school?

Any recommendations, readings, resources are appreciated.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 30, 2012 #2
    In your post you keep mentioning a physics career, but you only confront the issues of education (and then only undergrad) without the not so little problem of actually getting a career in physics. Where is it you think you’re going to work, exactly?