• Support PF! Buy your school textbooks, materials and every day products Here!

Second undergraduate degree

• Programs
  • Thread starter jaruta
  • Start date

Main Question or Discussion Point

Hello,
this is my first time posting on these forums, so I'd just like to say hello (again).

My problem is somewhat silly. Most people have an interest in getting out of school asap, but I'm the opposite. I'm just about to finish a degree major/minor in econ and math. Now, economics is a great subject, but I feel that I can develop my intellectual potential, and my curiosity, if I were to pursue another degree in another field. I was thinking of pursuing a double major in physics and chemistry at McGill (in Montreal). I figure that not only is one getting an edumacation, but there is also an opportunity to learn a foreign language. (The classroom language is English.) Yet, another 3, possibly, 4 years! Would it be better to just get an MA in econ and read natural science as a course of personal development?

What makes this all the more difficult is that I've no idea what to do with my future. I already have previous education in accounting and vocational training in banking and FS. I'm 22. Just turned. So there is alot of time. Money is rarely an issue. And I have a very supportive family.

If anyone has any advice whatsoever I will greatly, tremendously, appreciate it. This is something that is really beginning to bug me.

Cheers

Answers and Replies

FWIW, my first B.A. was in Sociology/Psychology at age 24

Now at age 32, Im about a year and a half aways from a B.S. in Math/Physics.

I guess a second option to consider might be to try doing a math grad degree and maybe do your research in a physics/chem field thats more slanted towards the math aspects of those sciences. I know of a couple of grad students in Math that never took a course in UG Physics, but are doing work in molecular modeling and such.

chiro
Science Advisor