1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Engineering Security Clearance in Aero/Mech industry w/ a criminal background (but not a conviction)

1. Mar 30, 2017 #1
    I have a bachelor's in aerospace engineering, and currently doing my masters in mechanical&aerospace. I would like to work in the aerospace industry upon graduation.

I am interested in companies such as Space X, Boeing, Raytheon, Lockheed, NASA, etc... and I presume most of these would require a security clearance of some sort?

I was involved in a non-physical altercation (argument) with my ex-girlfriend last year and was charged with several misdemeanors, including domestic violence. She called the police on me and I was arrested. The probable cause of my arrest and for my criminal charges are based on HER words alone according to the police report. The state I was arrested in has enacted some very strict domestic violence laws in the recent decade due to an unfortunate accident that occurred about a decade ago. The state law mandates that someone must be arrested and charged with domestic violence regardless of what happened and what evidence is present. If 911 is called in a domestic relations situation, someone is going to jail and will be criminally changed with domestic violence; there is no exception. The district attorney in charge of my case was about to dismiss the case; however, the alleged victim pressured/convinced him into prosecuting me and we had to take the matter to trial. I was considering hiring a criminal defense attorney, but opted not to. At trial, I pled the 5th and did not testify.