1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Seeing what we see

1. Jun 27, 2011 #1
    i am new to physics so had a question regarding appearance of objects
    firstly-why do we see the objects as they appear?
    secondly-consider a situation wherein i am seeing the reflection of the bulbs above me on the reflecting surface on the ground,but i could not see those bulb refection from the side walls because they aren't reflective enough,also the only light producing element are those bulbs
    the question that goes is
    "why do i see side walls as walls but not as blurred reflection of bulbs?"

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 27, 2011 #2
    Last question: Sometimes you do, if the walls are slick enough. But normally the walls are not completely flat at the microscopic level; they break up the direct rays from the bulb and throw them in little pieces in every direction.

4. Jun 27, 2011 #3
    Objects either reflect light in straight lines (mirror), reflect light diffusely (wall), refract light (glass cup), or absorb light (black hair) and our brain has figured out how to construct an internal 3D image from the light (or lack of) that come from the object and enters our eyes. Why don't we typically see reflected images in walls? For the same reason you can look out a window and see a tree but if you look out a frosted window you don't. If the light gets jumbled up, you can't form images. Interestingly, most materials become highly reflective at grazing viewing angles. So if the wall's surface is not too rough, and you place the light bulb right near the wall and your head near the wall, you will be able to see a light bulb image reflected in the wall.

5. Jun 28, 2011 #4
    do we have any theory about how brain construct these images just out of light?