Seeking help on vector calculus

In summary, the conversation is about a newcomer seeking expert advice on solving an equation. The advice given is to do the cross product first, then divide by the scalar magnitude, then apply the curl function. Another potential solution is using Lagrange's formula. The solution to the equation is also attached.
boarie
Dear all

I'm a newbie here...having some prob and hope to have your expert advice on how to solve the equation attached.

Thx in advance!

Attachments

• equ6-27-2006-3.47.09 PM.jpg
    equ6-27-2006-3.47.09 PM.jpg
    4.9 KB · Views: 444
Physics news on Phys.org
Do you want a general solution, or have you been given, eg., m=(m1,m2,m3), r=(r1,r2,r3), or have you specific values for the vectors m and r?

Either way, do the cross product first, then divide by the scalar magnitude, then apply the curl function.

hi J77

Thx for your reponse.. appreciate your advice...

In fact, the solution to the above is given as attached... I can't seem to derive to the stated form... :cry:

Would really appreciate if any guru can shed some light... :redface:

Attachments

• equation6-27-2006-10.16.32 PM.jpg
    equation6-27-2006-10.16.32 PM.jpg
    6.4 KB · Views: 423
Quick reply, but to me the transformation seems to lie in using Lagrange's formula:

[tex]a\times(b\times c)=b(a\cdot c)-c(a\cdot b)[/tex]

ie. "BAC minus CAB"

1. What is vector calculus?

Vector calculus is a branch of mathematics that deals with the study of vectors, which are quantities that have both magnitude and direction. It involves the use of mathematical operations such as differentiation and integration to analyze and manipulate vector quantities in both two and three-dimensional space.

2. Why is vector calculus important?