1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Support PF! Reminder for those going back to school to buy their text books via PF Here!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Other Self studying Physics

1. Nov 7, 2015 #1
    Hello guys. I am a resident practicing Neurology in Atlanta,GA.But Physics has always fascinated me. I want to self study Physics with no time constraints.I want a feasible plan.I will outline what I have in my mind; please guide me through it appropriately. Firstly, I did A levels Physics and Math too. So as far as my background goes in Math, I am familiar with calculus. But I want to fully study Physics.
    So if I am to understand correctly, following is the approach which I have planned to undertake:
    I start with Calculus Based Physics book-Halliday and Resnick. First question here: Are the Berkeley physics course books equivalent to Halliday and Resnick or above that level? If not equivalent, is Halliday and Resnick appropriate as a Calculus based Physics text before I start delving deeper.
    So, the idea is, once I am done with Halliday and Resnick(complemented by MIT fundamental Walter Lewin lectures or Yale fundamental physics lectures), I start with specific subjects and the relevant books in the following order.
    1.Classical Mechanics(Goldtsein or whatever you recommend)
    2.Electromagnetism(Purcell, Griffiths or whatever your recommendation)
    3.Quantum Mechanics(Shankar, JJ Sakurai, or whatever you recommend)
    4.Special Relativity & General Relativity(Weinberg or recommendations)
    5.Statistical Mechanics/Thermodynamics(your recommendations)
    6.Particle Physics(recommendations)
    7.Quantum Field Theory(Weinberg or recommendations)
    8.Cosmology(recommendations)
    9.String Theory(recommendations)