1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Self-studying QM?

1. Nov 30, 2015 #1
    Whole my life I have been interested in Quantum Physics. I have a bachelor degree in IT. I did not finish my studies.

I have always been quite sloppy in studying in school. As a result, my mathematics skills are terrible.

I often get pointed out on this forum that I better start with the basics of QM. I got the advice to read a book of D.J. Griffiths: "Introduction to Quantum Mechanics".

My question: given my very poor math skills, does it make sense to self-study quantum mechanics?

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 30, 2015 #2

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Books at that level assume a fluent understanding of calculus, and some familiarity with differential equations and linear algebra. If you have that much, you should be OK. If you don't, you will have difficulties.

4. Nov 30, 2015 #3
    I have had that all in my studies, but have thrown the syllabuses way. Does it make sense to self-study all those things (which I should be able to catch up again fairly quickly) without a tutor?

Last edited: Nov 30, 2015
  5. Nov 30, 2015 #4

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Yes, that would make most sense.

6. Nov 30, 2015 #5
    Okay. So does anyone have good advice as to what books I better start with?

7. Nov 30, 2015 #6

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

8. Nov 30, 2015 #7
    Thanks! Any good book on linear algebra??

9. Nov 30, 2015 #8

ZapperZ

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award