Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Self-taught wannabe any advice?

1. Jul 23, 2004 #1
    Long story short: In college, I tried to major in the sciences, but couldn't cut it because of my weak math/logic background. I graduated with a liberal arts degree, but I promised myself that I would teach myself enough math and science to succeed in attaining a bachelor's degree in the sciences next time around. So, after a two month break, I've decided to start reviewing for precalculus again. Some background follows, skip to the last paragraph to get to the point.

Currently, the plan is to go all the way to graduate level real analysis because my fiancé is eventually going to get a Ph.D in math and specializing in real analysis. I want to know what he's studying, and what the hell he gets all excited about. I also want to master (at least) undergraduate level physics, because that's the science that gets me all excited. Technology gets me excited, too, but physics was my first love.

When I was a child, I did projects in basic physics, and I enjoyed that immensely. Unfortunately, my teachers, noting what a good writer I was, steered me into writing instead. While writing is a great skill that I take pride in, I do not get excited about it as much as I do about physics.

What do I plan to do with this? I'm not sure yet, but I have a few ideas. I'm going to get my master's degree in Library Science in a year or two, so maybe I can be a research librarian in the sciences.