1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Self-teaching advice.

1. Jul 17, 2008 #1
    Ok so i'm in a bit of a muddle- i'll give a bit of background just so you can better understand my questions. I've just received my exam results for my fourth year (i'm studying an undergraduate masters 5 year-degree, joint in astrophysics+physics) and whilst I'm pleased to be at the top end for the physics side of my course, i've hit way below what I expected for the astrophysics part. Now I still have about 3 months left until we go back and next year I will have two separate courses on general relativity: gravitation and dynamics to tackle so I'm basically hoping I can work through this part on my own and get a big chunk of next years work sorted.

So i've got a hold of the course notes from next year, worked my way through a few of the introductary lectures and I'm really not feeling like i'm progressing - the problem is neither myself nor the rest of the students on these courses have really been through any sort of mathematical rigor before and the professor taking it has started off with pages of jargon - i'm spending hours reading definitions and i'm just not confident I'll actually remember any of it..

I have lists of the course objectives that i'll be required to cover, but what I'm looking for from you guys is some guidance on how I should be approaching it - which things are going to be absolutely crucial and worth spending the most time on. Am I best to prepare for plenty of reading? With the amount of concepts there seems to be, i'm not sure to what extend problems are going to play a part in learning the basics. Just looking to set myself up with a proper foundation for the course rather than just hoping to remember everything covered in the lectures.