Sophomore Physics Struggle: How I Can Recover from a 3.8 GPA?

In summary: I get. But I think that if I had talked to him more about what was going on and what I needed to do to pass, it wouldve been better.
carhartt
I'm a current sophomore, with a 3.8 GPA. Doing exceptionally well in all my courses, very good at math with A's. I knew coming into the semester Physics would be the 500-lb gorilla and have spent all hours of the day practicing as many problems and understanding the content throughly.

My peers see me for advice and I do provide. It is the exams that are killing me. 68, 70, and 62 respectively so far with one exam dropped, one more to go and the final. At this point I need to score an 80 on the remaining two exams to acquire a B and maintain my GPA to transfer.

My study regimen consists of the homework assignments, additional problems in the text and a review of the chapters from scratch to prepare for the exams. This process exhausts all the time that I have leaving no room for my other courses (Calc III, Linear Algebra, and C++). I'm very proficient in math and C++ I seem to be getting by so the sparse amount of time is not a problem.

Don't know how to pinpoint this problem I'm having, as mentioned the issue is with the exams (fine with HW and labs). I know this is very broad and varies between students but what is going on? I've been in this situation before with Chemistry I and have pulled myself out of the hole very early on to recover with an A. But being halfway through the semester I am very much panicing.

Interested in hearing any comments or advice pertaining to my situation at this time. Appreciate that you've read my rant/plea for help.

Physics news on Phys.org

Is the class graded on a curve? If so, 68, 70, and 62 may not be as bad as you think.

Do you have a test-taking strategy?