Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Sensing temperature or heat conductivity?

1. Jul 29, 2005 #1
    Does anyone know how we feel heat when we touch? I ask because I wonder if two different objects of the same temperature will "feel" different to humans simply because of their different heat conductivity. For example if you touch two things that are both at 0 deg C, one is a block of iron and the other is a block of plastic. Will the block of iron feel colder due to its different heat conductivity.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 1, 2005 #2
    Can anyone explani the neurological mechanism of touch or heat sense?

4. Sep 15, 2005 #3
    i'm no expert at this, but i do know some basics. The heat conductivity does have something to do with it. It will absorb more heat from your body than something that is less conductive. As to the neurological part... usually, you fell something if there is a change, or a stimulus, in the environment, and the brain tells you, basically, that there is a change and how much change there is. But, please, someone correct me if i am wrong...

but, to you quasi426, i'd say do some research either on touch, or see if there is a similar thread, or wait until someone acknoledges my theory and elaborates.

5. Sep 15, 2005 #4