Researching Set Theory as an Undergrad

In summary, the speaker is an undergrad student interested in pursuing research in set theory. However, their liberal arts school does not offer many courses on the subject and their professors are not familiar with set theory research. They plan to read Jech's "Set Theory" over the summer to prepare, but are also advised to read Hrbacek and Jech's book as a first encounter in set theory. The speaker is also recommended to study classical logic and model theory for advanced set theory.
mathkid
I'm currently an undergrad in math who's going to graduate next year. I'm interested in doing research in set theory (not now of course, perhaps in grad school). Unfortunately, I'm at a liberal arts school and there are no set theorists in the math department. All they offer is a naiive set theory course, in fact I'm taking a philosophy course on non classical logic, which is more interesting than what the math department has to offer. I've asked my advisor and other professors at my university and they have no idea about what set theory research entails. So my question is, what do I have to do in order to be able to do research in set theory? I've heard that Jech's text "Set Theory" is a good text for set theory, so I'll probably read that over the summer. How do I prepare for doing research, and what are open problems and theory building to be done. I.e. I don't want to try to do stuff that has already been solved. Given that no one in my math department can answer these questions, it seems like I'll have to try to do the research by myself.

Physics news on Phys.org
Yes, Jech is probably the best text for set theory. But it is also a quite mature text. I would not recommend Jech for a first encounter in set theory. There is also the Hrbacek & Jech book, which is probably better suited for a first encounter: https://www.amazon.com/dp/0824779150/?tag=pfamazon01-20