What is the purpose of studying set theory?

In summary, the study of set theory has great mathematical utility as it allows for a better understanding of logic and the construction of mathematical objects such as the reals and infinite dimensional vector spaces. It also raises important questions about foundational principles in mathematics.
Brunno
What is the great mathematical utility of set theory?

When you study set theory or when you studied do(did ) you know for what ecxacly you are(were) studying?And what do you know now?

Mathematics news on Phys.org
Yes, when I studied "set theory" I knew exactly what I was studying. In fact set theory basics (fundamental definitions) are remarkably simple (although like anything, it has some complex ramifications).

When I studied set-theory, I tended to reject question `for what exactly am I studying this?' - but in those days I was very theory oriented and interested in foundational questions.

After studying it, I knew a lot more set-theory. I also understood a lot more about logic.
I also had some idea of how certain constructions in classical mathematics - the construction of the reals, the existence of bases for infinite dimensional vector spaces - depended on some subtle and contestable basic principles.

But mainly, I knew a lot more set-theory.

What is Set Theory?

Set Theory is a branch of mathematics that deals with the study of sets, which are collections of objects. It provides a foundation for all of mathematics and is used in various fields such as computer science, physics, and statistics.

What are the basic concepts in Set Theory?