Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Sharp shadow

1. Apr 27, 2008 #1
    I am an artist. I am trying to cast a large sharp (in focus) shadow through a piece of lace onto a wall. It either turns out large and blurry if it is far from the wall, or sharp and small if it is closer to the wall. I have tried the following experiments:

1. Increased the focus and direction of the lamp. This improved the contrast of the shadow, but not the sharpness.

2. Reflected the light with a mirror. This allowed the piece of lace to be further from the wall, but in order to be sharp it still needed to be small, a 1 to1 size ratio.

3. Tried to focus the shadow with an eyeglass lens. This did nothing. I dont have a magnifying glass, but this is my next experiment. Perhaps also a convex lens?

Does anyone have any advice about how to cast a large, in focus shadow with a spotlight? What physics is going on here?

Thanks,
    Alejandra

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 27, 2008 #2

pam

You're getting diffraction, which bends the light at different angles.
    You might try blue or violet light, which has a shorter wavelength.
    If that doesn't help, you would need thicker thread, maybe with a larger space between the threads.

4. Apr 27, 2008 #3
    Blue light

Thanks for your response. Will any blue filter do? What about blue LED?

5. Apr 27, 2008 #4

pam

Try it, but it still might be too long a wavelength, in which case you need coarser (probably cheaper) lace.

6. Apr 27, 2008 #5
    Doubtful with no report of coloured fringes; look up "penumbra" then put a card with a very small aperture in front of the lamp beam and try not to put the subject (lace) too close to this aperture (move everything away from the wall instead).

7. Apr 28, 2008 #6

Andy Resnick

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor