Sharp shadow

• Thread starter alejandra
  • Start date
I am an artist. I am trying to cast a large sharp (in focus) shadow through a piece of lace onto a wall. It either turns out large and blurry if it is far from the wall, or sharp and small if it is closer to the wall. I have tried the following experiments:

1. Increased the focus and direction of the lamp. This improved the contrast of the shadow, but not the sharpness.

2. Reflected the light with a mirror. This allowed the piece of lace to be further from the wall, but in order to be sharp it still needed to be small, a 1 to1 size ratio.

3. Tried to focus the shadow with an eyeglass lens. This did nothing. I dont have a magnifying glass, but this is my next experiment. Perhaps also a convex lens?

Does anyone have any advice about how to cast a large, in focus shadow with a spotlight? What physics is going on here?

Thanks,
Alejandra

Answers and Replies

pam
You're getting diffraction, which bends the light at different angles.
You might try blue or violet light, which has a shorter wavelength.
If that doesn't help, you would need thicker thread, maybe with a larger space between the threads.

Blue light

Thanks for your response. Will any blue filter do? What about blue LED?

pam
Try it, but it still might be too long a wavelength, in which case you need coarser (probably cheaper) lace.

You're getting diffraction
Doubtful with no report of coloured fringes; look up "penumbra" then put a card with a very small aperture in front of the lamp beam and try not to put the subject (lace) too close to this aperture (move everything away from the wall instead).

Andy Resnick
Science Advisor
Education Advisor
Insights Author
If you place a lens in between the lace and wall, such that the lens images the lace onto the wall, the outline of the 'shadow' should be sharp.

Redbelly98
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
Insights Author