1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Shot put physics problem

1. Sep 21, 2004 #1
    A shot put is released with a velocity of 12 m/s and stays in the air for 2.0s.

At what angle with the horizontal was it released?

What horizontal distance did it travel?

Can someone please help me with this problem, thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 21, 2004 #2

Pyrrhus

Homework Helper

Some hints:
    Consider when y =0 and when y is at max height.

4. Sep 21, 2004 #3
    ok im not good at this stuff at all, lol

can someone plz give me a step by step of it or give me a lil more info on how to get the answer

5. Sep 21, 2004 #4

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

But the shot put is not at y= 0 when it is thrown. I don't see how you can do this without knowing the initial height of the shot.

(By the way- a "shot put" is NOT released. "Shot put" is the name of the event. It is the "shot" that is thrown (or "put").

6. Sep 21, 2004 #5
    I think you need the angle at which it was released. Blassemer, are you sure that's all the information given by the question?

PS: HallsofIvy breaks 3000! :tongue2:

Last edited: Sep 21, 2004
  7. Sep 21, 2004 #6

Pyrrhus

Homework Helper

Well, assuming [tex] Y_{o} = 0 [/tex]. I agreed with Halls, but maybe he left it out.

Using this equation

[tex] Y - Y_{o} = V_{yo}t + \frac{1}{2}at^2 [/tex]

[tex] 0 = V_{yo}t_{f} + \frac{1}{2}gt^2_{f} [/tex]

[tex] t_{f} [/tex] It's flight time and is equal to 2 seconds.

We can get Initial Vy component that way.

[tex] V_{o}^2 = V_{xo}^2 + V_{yo}^2 [/tex]

[tex] V_{o} = 12 m/s [/tex]

8. Sep 21, 2004 #7