Should I Pursue a Career as a Maintenance Technician or an Engineering Degree?

• Engineering
  • Thread starter Parsifal1
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation focuses on the choice between pursuing an engineering degree and becoming a maintenance technician. The discussion highlights the differences in job responsibilities and the potential for hands-on work in both fields. The speakers also mention the value of gaining experience in field service engineering and forensic investigations.
Parsifal1
I had an interview today for 'maintenance technician' apprentice, but I am hesitating as to whether I want it. I am interested in hands on work and I would want to stay away from being chained to a desk on CAD all day at all costs. I could do an Engineering BS or I could do this, I am confused as to which to do. Are there any technicians here and what are your experiences?

Cheers.

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm not a technician. I have a degree in Electrical Engineering
Just cause you have a B.Eng doesn't mean you'll be stuck at a desk doing CAD.

I work in field services and spend ~half my time out at sites fixing stuff.

But of course there are many engineering jobs that you are chained to a desk. My last COOP placement I was a glorified CAD monkey and that is what the engineers did all day everyday. I knew pretty quickly that it wasn't for me.

I'm tempted to say that the B.Eng is a better route to go as it will give you more flexibility in what you can you do as a career.

Likes billy_joule
Hey Parsifal1.

If you want to do technical work then an associate degree might be better suited to you.

I would recommend you find out the difference between an associates degree in the branches of engineering that interest and suit you and decide whether you would like to do the associates degree of the full bachelors degree.